Love and Hurt

Most of us dreams of happy endings. A fairy tale love story wherein the main characters live happily ever after. That is what those fairytale stories instill in our mind when we were kids.

I remember when I was a kid, I would always dream of having my own prince charming, a cute daughter and a happy family. I am addicted to fairytale stories, I am a sucker in happy endings. But growing up, I realized, life isn’t a fairytale, so as in love. Love in reality isn’t close to what I used to imagine reading my favorite fairytales.

As I mature, I realized that when loving someone, you will always get hurt. No matter how hard we try to avoid hurting the ones we love. Sometimes we hurt them without noticing it. The more we try to avoid them, the more we end up hurting them. I always believe in trying to keep things to myself which might hurt the relationship. And i was then successful not telling them what i feel. But right now, I realized, I should learn to speak up, tell them how I feel. Be it good or bad, I need to be transparent.

I remember the song of Tiffany, it says there It’s the lover not the love who broke your heart last night. It’s the lover not the dream that didn’t work out right. If you listen to your heart, ooh you’ll know it’s true
It’s the lover not the love who deserted you”

Well in loving someone, if we lose them, it is not love who left us or didn’t work out, it is indeed our partner who deserted us. Sometimes we cry so hard, we became so depressed that we forget that there is still tomorrow to hope for. If they leave us, it not us who lost something, we should always remember that it is their loss. If they leave us, we should not let it get into us too much. Crying is normal, but the following that, we should remember that we need to move on and face the fact that they are no longer with us. Leaving doesn’t make us less a person but rather just make us a better person after learning something from not so good experience. One thing I have learned in life, is that wisdom doesn’t always have to be sugar coated but sometimes it came like a bitter pill. Something we cannot swallow. But this bitter pills are way better that those sugar coated medicines we take to ease the pain we feel.

People leave us because in the first place, they were never meant to be with us. Like in those movies, their role has ended already. But we should not regret having them as a part in our life. They made us who we are. Thank God for He let us meet them to mold us into a better person.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life for Beginners
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 09:40:49

    We do get our happy endings, that’s what I believe. Just not always the ones we think we want.

    Reply

  2. equilibrium2008
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 12:56:07

    Well lucky you. Not all people have happy endings. 😦

    Reply

  3. donG hO
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 03:08:46

    when you are aligned with God’s plans, you’ll definitely be assured of a happy ending.

    Reply

  4. equilibrium2008
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 06:47:29

    Yes that is true. God is my only friend now. I pray so hard for him for me to have happy ending with my boyfriend now. I love him so much and I will never be the same if I lose him

    Reply

  5. rhosie
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 02:13:35

    so ture…love is not always a fairytale but i think one good thing that pain and heartaches experiences brought us about is that we learn and become a better one…life is not always a happy ending but is not also means we should regret to loved….

    Reply

  6. equilibrium2008
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 03:41:14

    Yes that is so true. We should never regret loving someone. No matter how bad they made us feel, still they contribute of who we are right now

    Reply

  7. Fariza Izyan
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 12:54:57

    This makes me feel better about the troubles i’ve been having in life. Thanks! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

