Parental Control

I love watching this reality t.v. show. I just don’t understand why some kids really fall in love with the wrong one. In US I assume when they reach 16, they cannot be controlled by their parents. But when I watched this reality show, I told myself “dang, they have this kind of show”. hmm…

In the latest version, parents unhappy with their child’s current partner, interview and select prospective partners who vie for the affections of their child. Afterwards, their child goes on a date with the two selections. They have to decide whether to keep their current relationship, or one of the new prospects.

During each date, the parents and the current partner watch and comment, often antagonistically, as the date unfolds on television. When the dates are finished, the child selects their new partner from amongst the competitors and current partner.

I remember when I was in high school, I was so scared to let my family know that somebody likes me. Being in conservative family, I was so scared, which I don’t know why. So till I was in college, my mentality is like this. The guy should be well liked by my family.

I remember whenever guy sends me something before, I made it sure nobody sees it. Then as I mature, I learned that there is nothing wrong if somebody likes me. Then, that’s the time I asked my suitors visit me at home which I think is more appropriate.

Most of the guy I was involved with, were pretty decent and nice guys. But I must say, there is only one of them who really made a huge difference of who I am now. He made me realize a lot of things, pushed me to my limit to give everything I can to get what I want. To learn how to hold on despite of the pain and not to give up easily no matter what other people will say. Before if I didn’t get something that I like on the first try, I just give up easily. And mostly, this guy taught me how to cry. With my ex boyfriends before, I don’t know how to cry. I just simply don’t like them seeing me cry. For me it is sign of weakness. I am not weak. So I built all these walls and don’t let anyone get that close, close enough to hurt me. But with him, I let all my guards down and the very ‘first’ guy who made me cry.

The Parental control with him, didn’t became a big issue. With his status, I am sure that it should require lots of parental advices and the likes but to my surprise, I didn’t get a single one. Although my mom would always tells me that he likes my ex from US before (that guy and I were together for 6 years that’s why) more than this guy. But see, she didn’t stop me because she knows I am happy with this guy.

Right now, I was able to surpass all those difficult trials, on the verge of losing him but I keep on holding on. First time to hold on to someone, scared of losing him since I learned to love him. 18 months has passed, and yet we are not exclusively into this relationship, ‘special friend’ I think would suited us better. But I don’t regret anything of it, I am happy and I love this guy.

I will hold on till I can. The parental control, would always be there, and I am not close to that idea. But I am glad my parents didn’t stop me the way these parents in this reality shows does. My mom just listens (my dad died almost four years ago already) and my mom would always just be there behind me to support me if I am down.

So I think, some children should somehow be glad of those ‘parental control’. Parents would never want something bad to happen to us. Just explain to them how you feel whenever they try to apply this control. I am sure they won’t stop you from being happy but give them a chance to explain themselves as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life for Beginners | Kenny Mah
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 02:08:36

    “Parents would never want something bad to happen to us.”

    That’s exactly it. I don’t want my parents to control me BUT I don’t want them to give up trying either. It’s a sign that they care. That’s very important to me.

    And I like your mom could tell you’re happy with your guy. That’s so cool.

    Reply

  2. equilibrium2008
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:19:59

    Yes indeed she is. Ouchies in fact attend all family gatherings we have. ๐Ÿ™‚ My mom would always want him to join us, isn’t it great? ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  3. Life for Beginners | Kenny Mah
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:43:37

    Your mom is the coolest. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think family acceptance is still very important to us no matter what we might say. So you’re both fortunate this way.

    Reply

  4. equilibrium2008
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:47:38

    Yes she is, we are like friends at home though. But she knows in fact I am torn between these two guys, Ouchies and my american heart.. Read my next blog. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply

  5. Life for Beginners | Kenny Mah
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 04:00:37

    Well, you’d resolve it in time. Have faith, dear. *hugs*

    Reply

  6. equilibrium2008
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 06:03:31

    Thanks Ken. I hope soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

