Filipino Streetfoods

Last night it was a sinful night. I am supposed to stick to my “D.I.E.T” however, when my niece asked me to accompany her to 7-11 we passed by this BBQ stalls. But hey in our country, BBQ stalls they also sell unique Filipino street foods. I had these last nights.

Chicken Intestine a.k.a Isaw ng Manok

Pork Intestine a.k.a Isaw ng baboy

Pork blood a.k.a Dugo or Betamax (Yeah they call it betamax because of the rectangular shape resembling to a betamax before)

Pork’s ear a.k.a Tenga ng Baboy

Quail egg with flour a.k.a Kwek-Kwek

Fishballs (flat one), Squidballs (the one being fried) and Kikiam (the longer one)

And that’s what I had last night. But my niece added these following foods because they love it. Which I don’t eat. But I will just post it here anyway so you will have an idea what are the streetfoods we have here in the Philippines.

Balot (it has also a counterpart which is called Penoy. However, I don’t eat this, just Penoy. Penoy doesn’t have duck embryo while Balot has. And yes, the duck embryo should be eaten too. They said it is delicious but I don’t think I am ready for that)

Chicken feet a.k.a Adidas (They call it Adidas since it is a shoe and this is a feet. I eat this if it is cook in Chinese resto but I don’t like this being grilled.)

Chicken head a.k.a Helmet (Yes, they call this helmet because it is chicken’s head)

So now you see, Philippines have unique streetfoods right? But I can assure you that they all yummy..

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aribabybug
    May 30, 2008 @ 01:54:52

    Oh! Wow! I can’t believe that these are things that you eat frequently. Here in the U.S., we don’t like to eat anything that looks even a little like what it used to be. Maybe someday I’ll be brave and try some of these things!

    Reply

  2. equilibrium2008
    May 30, 2008 @ 02:05:10

    Hi Aribabybug, oh well we eat almost everything here except human beings 🙂 Hmm they are very tasty. Well my cousins there also don’t like to eat Filipino streetfoods. They find it weird 😀 But I am glad you liked it. 🙂

    Reply

  3. su
    May 31, 2008 @ 03:20:31

    Very authentic stuff! Haven’t really tried any of it, don’t have the stomach for it! But I definitely know a lot of people who love food like this!

    Reply

  4. equilibrium2008
    May 31, 2008 @ 07:25:47

    Su they really taste good. Veru unique and yummy 🙂

    Reply

  5. Kenny Mah // Life for Beginners
    May 31, 2008 @ 10:46:49

    Good gosh… I’ve to be honest… I avoid most internal organs… I think the kwek kwek is as far as I’d go… Sorry, not very adventurous… 😦

    Reply

  6. equilibrium2008
    May 31, 2008 @ 18:21:37

    Ahaha, oh well I think every country has their own unique food right? It just so happens that my country likes eating this animal’s internal organs 🙂

    Reply

  7. metal_monkee
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 06:07:02

    hi equilibrium…

    nice pictures…^_^

    i can definitely eat those…probably because i also live in here, thats why i can…and its considered a delicacy here…common its just part of a chicken ryt? hehe, but for health reason i wont eat them for example the chicken skin (sold as skin only) its bad…its where all the cholesterol are and for healthy reasons chicken skin is removed when we cook it…^_^

    other delicacies of other country i think i cannot eat are the maggots maybe because maggots our perception here are living in and eating dead bodies, we found it disgusting to eat those insects…

    anyways…thanks for sharing this its very informative and yummy to look at…^_^

    SMILE ALWAYS…^_^

    Reply

  8. tmsbrdrs
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 17:15:13

    These make me wish there were more streetfood vendors in South Carolina. The best foods are adventurous and since a street vendor is his own boss most times, he can be as adventurous as he wants. Sure, by Filipino standards none of those are very adventurous since the same foods are eaten all over, but by my own, that is the most beautifully exotic food I’ve seen. I’d love to start a forum of this stuff on my website. distinctlyamericanfood.vze.com While you’re there, check out my blogs, I’m working on adding more all the time.

    Reply

  9. equilibrium2008
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 00:59:55

    Yesit is tmsbrdrs.. But I hope you could also visit Philippines since we also have a lot of beautiful places to see… 🙂

    I checked your blog, and those foods makes my mouth water.. *drooling*….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

