Bad English…

I was working with call center industry for almost 5 years. And given I have been dealing with foreigners most of the time and we are not allowed to disclose our locations, (say even if the customer noticed our native accent, we should still say that we are located in U.S.), we need to really sound like Americans or Brits, depends which account you will be handling.

Mostly of the accounts I handled were U.S. clients so I need to undergo this American Accent training with none other than Anne Cook. Dang she is really good. But since I am a Filipino, I think there would still be slip of the tongue when it comes to this English language. The common problems of Filipinos I think would be the P and the F, the B and V. Most of the time, they interchange this with one another for example “pe-der” (this should be “F”ea=ther), fey-per (this should be “P”ey-per) and the likes. Also the “Th” sounds.

Hmm, I think this is the classic Filipino English which is mostly shown during our Accent training classes. This is why I just so love Rex Navarette. I know some people think he is kinda racist but common, he is stand up comedian, and I think most of them do this as well.

Yeah see the P and the F. ๐Ÿ˜€

Maritess is also funny..

Basically this are videos that shows that we need to have to improve our English if we are really serious in getting in the call center industry. But sometimes, I think when I was in this industry, I find some of the agents so TH (trying hard) when they try to imitate the way black people speak. For me, I think, they sounded like this:

Yeah, the more harder you try to sound like those black or put some twangs the more it ends up in disaster. Example the beach ends up with short e and it sound like BITCH!. Common dude, speak in your normal way. Don’t be so trying so hard. You look like a mess.

I’d rather listen to this person. Who thinks that the title of Mariah Carey’s song Without you is Ken Lee. I think she has more excuse in English language since I think only few speaks fluent English in Bulgaria.

Hmm, now I wonder, do I also speak that bad. But hey, so far in my stay in the call center, none of my customers during escalations of my agents thinks I am not located in U.S. so as my agents.

Maybe, I should not be confident enough. I should still improve my English.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kenny Mah
    May 26, 2008 @ 04:34:53

    Goodness gee… that Ken Lee vid is going places, isn’t it? So bad it’s funny! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

  2. equilibrium2008
    May 26, 2008 @ 09:06:05

    ahaha.. watch out the part 2… ๐Ÿ™‚ hmm I am not racist at all okay, it is just my observation because I worked for American clients since I graduated from college. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Kenny Mah // Life for Beginners
    May 26, 2008 @ 10:02:19

    Humour doesn’t have to be racist, dear. But we are allowed some room to play with, in the right crowd. I always felt I could make jokes about obese and superskinny people since I’ve been both, but not everyone gets that.

    It’s one thing for it to be wit, and another for it to be cruelty. On paper, it may be misconstrued, so I usually save for banter in person. Safer that way.

    Reply

  4. equilibrium2008
    May 27, 2008 @ 00:38:29

    Hehe, thanks la. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I just can’t really understand them at all ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply

  5. Kenny Mah // Life for Beginners
    May 27, 2008 @ 01:30:21

    Heh. I think that’s the “point” — the fact we don’t understand is what’s funny.

    Reply

  6. equilibrium2008
    May 27, 2008 @ 01:34:00

    hihihi.. I can’t help myself but laugh with that Ken Lee… ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

