Pampanga

Well, this is about my experience going to this Province and experience how they celebrate Holy week. I am very much curious how they really celebrate Holy week. I have heard a lot of times how they uniquely celebrate it.

I took some picture of their very own way of celebrating this sacred celebrations for Catholics. Also, this blog will include places and things we have seen in this province. Hope you will like it as much as we do..

The churches that is posted in this blog is in fact, the oldest churches in this province. Last year, we had the chance to see these churches when we had our Visita Iglesia..

Goddess of Shrine

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kenny Mah
    May 14, 2008 @ 05:31:46

    It’s certainly different from what we have here in Malaysia. And I come from Malacca, so we do have more Catholic festivities here than the rest of the country, unless I’m very much mistaken.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

  2. equilibrium2008
    May 14, 2008 @ 13:29:51

    Well Philippines is very much dominated by Catholics so we have a lot of religious celebrations.

    But you know, we have other unique celebrations here.. I think I will discuss this in my future blogs. 🙂

    The last pic is in fact built in 1820 during Spanish era.

    Reply

  3. alohapenny
    May 14, 2008 @ 16:15:39

    Ooohhhh the “Penitensya” picture made me cringe. *shrugs*

    Reply

  4. equilibrium2008
    May 14, 2008 @ 20:53:14

    have you see this also before? In Pampanga they in fact called this as “Cutud”.

    Kenny – this kind of ritual is The Cutud Lenten Rites are world-famous for the re-enactment of the Christ’s Passion and Death culminating with the actual nailing of people on a wooden cross. The Catholic Church dos not approve the crucifixions.

    Aside from the crucifixions you can see dozens of barefoot and shirtless men, their faces hidden by black hoods repeatedly whipping their own bloodied backs with thin bamboo strips tied on a rope.

    Reply

  5. Tim
    May 14, 2008 @ 23:35:30

    Thank you for posting this…

    Reply

  6. equilibrium2008
    May 14, 2008 @ 23:48:01

    No worries.. I will try to post more if I have a chance. Mostly of the places I posted here, I have personally visited them 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

